The Pain of Love

The first time I read the words of this hymn/poem, I cried.  I’ve never heard it sung aloud, but I felt it pull my heart strings.  It was written by Frederick William Faber, who lived from 1814-1863. 

The Pain of Love

Jesus! why dost Thou love me so?

What hast Thou seen in me

To make my happiness so great,

So dear a joy to Thee?

Were Thou not God, I then might think

You had no eye to read

The badness of that selfish heart,

For which Thine own did bleed.

But Thou art God, and knowest all;

Deal Lord! Thou knowest me;

And yet Thy knowledge hinders not

Thy love’s sweet liberty.

Ah, how Thy grace hath wooed my soul

with persevering wiles!

Now give me tears to weep; for tears

Are deeper joy than smiles.

Each proof renewed of Thy great love

Humbles me more and more,

And brings to light forgotten sins,

And lays them at my door.

The more I love Thee, Lord! the more

I hate my own cold heart;

The more Thou woundest me with love,

The more I feel the smart.

What shall I do then, dearest Lord!

Say, shall I fly from Thee,

And hide my poor unloving self

Where Thou canst never see?

Or shall I pray that Thy dear love

To me might not be given?

Ah no! love must be pain on earth,

If it be bliss in heaven.

What do you think??

