Too much change?

Everyone  is promoting change as if it is a good thing! Yes, I know, lots of things need to be changed–all war, global climate, economic fluctuations, minimum wage, fuel prices & use, number of people killed/maimed on our roads by drunk drivers or not, prejudice, racism, sexism, terrorism, and a lot more!  Most of all, what should really change is—everyone else! Right?

I don’t know about you, but sometimes I feel as if I’ve had enough change to last a lifetime.  Besides too much change (improvement?) in techno things for one generation to keep up with, my husband and I were in or married to the military for 30 years and lived change at warp speeds–household changes, countries, jobs, kids’ schools, driver’s licenses, friends, churches, doctors, gardens, utilities, bosses, etc.  So, something steady, dauntless, unchanging has a certain appeal. And I don’t think I’m alone; I think most everyone is deficient in stability.

A predominant need is Security.  And that doesn’t go away as we ‘grow up.’  We need Something or Someone to remain strong, stable, and constant; dependability beyond technology, a house that won’t crumble in the wind, a ship that will weather the storm, a friend who is always there, a marriage that will last and last, and true, unconditional love.  Isn’t that what your heart longs for beyond any surface changes you can make, or others promise? 

“I am the Lord, I change not. ”       Malachi 3:6 KJV

Thankfully , we have One who never changes!  C.H. Spurgeon elaborates on this by saying:

“Everything else has changed or is changing.  The sun itself grows dim with age. The word is growing old.  The folding up of worn-out garments has begun. The heaven and earth must soon pass away; there is only One who has immortality, of whose years there is no end and in whose person there is no change!” (Morning by Morning, pg. 315)  Then he quotes an century old hymn, timely today as then:

Death and change are busy ever,  Man decays, and ages move;

But His mercy waneth never; God is wisdom, God is love.

Another favourite hymn carried me through some tremendous upheaval in my life:

Be still my soul, the Lord is on your side.

Bear patiently the cross of grief or pain;

Leave to thy God to order and provide,

In every change He faithful will remain.

Be still my soul, thy best my heavenly friend,

Thru thorny ways leads to a joyful end.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Be still my soul, thy God doth undertake

To guide the future as He has the past,

Thy hope, thy confidence let nothing shake,

All now mysterious shall be bright at last.

Be still my soul, the waves and winds still know

His voice who ruled them while He dwelt below.

There are many out there who promise change, and maybe some of them can deliver. I won’t hold my breath. In the meantime, my assurance and reliance is on the One who never changes!

 

“Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of  heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows.”  James 1:17 NIV

What do you think??

