Jesus is praying for you – Part 2

Everyday we face fear and anxiety which robs us from having complete security and rest in God’s love.  We forget that we are being thought of, cared for, and prayed for, without ceasing, by our Lord and Saviour, Jesus Christ.  The Psalmist gives us this assurance:

Where can I go from your Spirit? Where can I flee from your presence?

If I go up to the heavens, you are there; if I make my bed in the depths, you are there.

If I rise on the wings of the Dawn, if I settle on the far side of the sea,

even there your hand will guide me, your right hand will hold me fast,

If I say, “Surely the darkness will hide me, and the light become night around me,”

even the darkness will not be dark to you; the night will shine like the day, for the darkness is as light to you……

When I awake, I am still with you…” 

Psalm 139: 1-12, 18    

This affirmation and love is personified and realized in Jesus Christ’s life, ministry, prayer, and place in our lives.  But before we get into the beauty and details of Christ’s prayer towards us, I’d like to backtrack to Isaiah 53, the foretelling of Christ’s life and death, so we can see that God’s plan and love for us spans millenniums–we’re not an after-thought to our Creator! 

Isaiah 53:1

Who has believed our message, and to whom has the arm of the Lord been revealed?”

It is the Lord that sought me out, and drew me to Himself, and act of pure grace and mercy.  The apostle John recognized this far-reaching plan when he wrote,

 “The Word became flesh and lived for awhile among us.  We have seen His glory, the glory of the One and Only Son, who came from the Father, full of grace and truth.  From the fullness of His grace we have all received one blessing after another, for the law was given through Moses; grace and truth came through Jesus Christ. No one has ever seen God, but God the only Son Who is at the Fathers side, has made Him known.” John 1:14-18 NIV

God the Father who is unseen, revealed Himself, His love, His Attributes as God through His Son Jesus.  It was by simply believing these words and testimony of John that enable me to receive Christ as my Saviour!

Isaiah 53:2

He grew up before Him like a tender shoot, and like a root out of dry ground.  He had no beauty or majesty to attract us to Him, nothing in His appearance that we should desire Him.”

Jesus grew up before the Father; His life was overseen by the Father.  The circumstances of His upbringing were simple, poor, and difficult.  He was humble, yet strong.  “Jesus grew in wisdom and stature, and in favour with God and men.” Luke 2:52 NIV

The average person would not have singled Jesus out as a leader, or one whom people might naturally worship.  Jesus clothed Himself in humanity for our sake.  “For the joy set before Him, He endured the Cross.” (Hebrews 12:2)  That joy could have been anticipating His return to the Father where He enjoyed unhindered fellowship…OR it may have been knowing He would lead the way for all of US to be restored and reconciled into unbroken fellowship with a loving God and Father. 

While we were yet sinners, Christ died for us!   God’s love extends to each of us, even if we aren’t seeking Him, even if we turn the other way…. 

Next part:  Christ took on Himself utter rejection and suffering–for us. 

What do you think??

