Debtor to Grace

I love the depth of thought, experience, and doctrine found in older hymns.  Yes, I’m thankful for the variety of Christian contemporary music being recorded of late; a far cry from the Christian choruses we had in the late 60’s or early 70’s.  Some of you may remember (or choose to forget) those days or those songs.  🙂   But the message of most hymns is timeless, and sadly, not heard enough.  This is one of my favourites, partly because it has a nice celtic lift, but primarily for the sentiment expressed:

Come, Thou Fount

by Robert Robinson

1. Come, Thou fount of every blessing, tune my heart to sing Thy grace;

Streams of mercy, never ceasing, call for songs of loudest praise.

Teach me some melodious sonnet sung by flaming tongues above;

Praise the mount, I’m fixed upon it, mount of Thy redeeming love.

2. Here I raise to Thee an altar, hither by Thy help I’m come;

And I hope by Thy good pleasure safely to arrive at home.

Jesus sought me when a stranger wand’ring from the fold of God;

He to rescue me from danger interposed His precious blood.

3.  O to grace how great a debtor, daily I’m constrained to be!

Let Thy goodness like a fetter bind my wand’ring heart to Thee.

Prone to wander, Lord, I feel it, prone to leave the God I love;

Here’s my heart, O take and seal it, seal it for Thy courts above.”

By the way, a lot of hymns are being re-recorded by popular groups, or having new melodies written to enhance their message.  Check out Sovereign Grace Ministries.  They have some great music, new and old; all of it rich with praise and grace!

One thought on “Debtor to Grace

  1. Pingback: Come Thou Fount - David Crowder Band « Absolutegrace

What do you think??

