On breaks, no condemnation, Christmas, and Folk Angels

Hello! Remember me?

I’ve been away from blogging waaay too long (over 4 months!) and I’m not even sure how to do this anymore!   I’ve been away so long, that I actually considered quitting blogging all together–after all, who’s NOT blogging these days, so are my two cents really necessary?  And if I keep blogging, where do I start? Should I explain myself, my absence, my life, or just hit the proverbial deck running?  And then, what about all the things I’ve been musing on, mulling over, journalling, or events that have either broken my heart with cries, tears and grief, or encouraged me to die more to self and live more for Him?

Seriously, if I consider any of these options right now, I’d rather close my laptop and procrastinate a few more months. Instead, I really need to ease back into this, so I’m going to focus on all the wonder, hope, and Joy of Christmas!  Everything else can wait…

~~~

Therefore, there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus, because through Christ Jesus the law of the Spirit of life set me free from the law of sin and death. For what the law was powerless to do in that it was weakened by the sinful nature, God did by sending his own Son in the likeness of sinful man to be a sin offering.

  (Romans 8:1-3)

~~~
Romans 8 may seem like an unlikely Christmas passage, but it’s a perfect reminder about “the reason for the Season;”  God sent His own Son into the world as a sin offering for us!  Such a proclamation required angles upon angels to sing of the Wonder!  Oh, Holy Night!

The artists who’ve recorded this carol is nearly innumerable, but the ones I love hearing are a bit more limited–John Denver, Clay Aiken, Josh Groban, to mention a few.  And now, Folk Angel!  Yes, let me introduce you to Folk Angel, a band who has already released three Christmas CDs.  This is from their website:

Our desire as a band is to make known the greatness of Jesus Christ and to exalt Him through the music that we create. We write and rearrange traditional Christmas songs, and through that creative process we retell the Gospel story that illuminates all things.

Their music fulfills their mission!  Click on the album cover to view or purchase their music.  And you can listen to “O Holy Night” in the Music Box above.

~~~~~~~~

O Holy Night

O holy night, the stars are brightly shining

It is the night of the dear Savior’s birth!

Long lay the world in sin and error pining,

Till He appeared and the soul felt its worth.

A thrill of hope, the weary soul rejoices,

For yonder breaks a new and glorious morn.

~~

Fall on your knees, O hear the angel voices!

O night divine, O night when Christ was born!

O night, O holy night, O night divine!

~~

Led by the light of faith serenely beaming,

With glowing hearts by His cradle we stand

So led by light of a star sweetly gleaming,

Here came the wise men from Orient land.

The King of kings lay thus in lowly manger,

In all our trials born to be our friend!

~~

Fall on your knees, O hear the angel voices!

O night divine, O night when Christ was born!

O night, O holy night, O night divine!

~~

Truly He taught us to love one another;

His law is love and His Gospel is peace.

Chains shall He break for the slave is our brother

And in His Name all oppression shall cease.

Sweet hymns of joy in grateful chorus raise we,

Let all within us praise His holy Name!

~~

Fall on your knees, O hear the angel voices!

O night divine, O night when Christ was born!

O night, O holy night, O night divine!

~~

… Oh yes, and I promise I won’t be away for another 4 months…

6 thoughts on “On breaks, no condemnation, Christmas, and Folk Angels

  1. Yay – you’re back! I’ve missed seeing you around the bloggy world… I’ll look forward to reading what you’ve been up to over the last few months… Hope you and your family have a Merry Christmas!

  2. PRAISE THE LORD!
    It’s ALWAYS WONDERFUL to see your blog———no matter what you say or where you left off.
    Isn’t God amazing that HE always sends exactly what we need to hear.

    Great to have you writing agin beautiful Linda.
    Check out Celtic Women on You Tube singing O Holy Night. Let me know what you think.
    Love to you and John!!!!!

  3. welcome back! I have missed you… it was good you decided to go past the misgivings and just went on to finish a great comeback post. Such a beautiful post it is, Linda. To your question who’s not blogging these days? My answer… not me!

    So I am just glad to welcome you back to the blogging neighborhood. You have been missed.

    Thanks for sharing about the Folk Angels. WIll check out their music one of these days.

    Your words are always a delight to read. May your Advent season be a truly meaningful one.

    Love
    Lidia

  4. Your blog is worth much more than the 2 cent blogs, You’re also making known the greatness of Jesus Christ and exalting Him by living for Him and blogging again – priceless! sorry to hear there were events that made you grieve. thanks for sharing the gospel in your Christmas post and the music of folk angel. I was looking for something like that. (: I’ve been listening to the rearranged hymns of “Page CXVI” – check them out.

    • Thank you Brenten! I actually listen to Page CXVI too! There are so many hymns I’ve grown to love over the years, and so I appreciate their talents, as well as other bands, who seek to revive the timeless words with new arrangements! John and I love following all the Lord is doing in and through you and Lena’s lives in Latvia! Still praying we can visit you one day, Lord willing–would you join us in prayer too? Merry Merry Christmas!

What do you think??

