Life is Loud

The Grinch

“Oh, the Noise! Noise Noise! Noise! Noise!”, cries the Grinch!!!  

There’s so much noise, or unwanted sound, that blasts our brains, and bangs on our eardrums.  Noise of traffic, TVs, and toys, whirs of computers and air conditioners, other’s music, drumming and humming…and that’s just a start.  The drone of the crowds, the boisterous ego of the media, and sounds we’re unaware of.. Then there’s our thoughts, constantly correcting, accusing, or directing us, here, there, everywhere.  Life is loud!

A quiet rural setting, a library, or a walk along a lake, offer some repose, but we can’t turn off all the noise completely, especially our own thoughts, convictions, or musings.  That’s why I like this prayer of A.W. Tozer, from his book, The Pursuit of God:

Lord, teach me to listen.  The times are noisy and my ears are weary with the thousand raucous sounds which continuously assault them.  Give me the spirit of the boy Samuel when he said, “Speak ,for Your servant hears.”  Let me hear you speaking in my heart.  Let me get used to the sound of your voice, that its tones may be familiar when the sounds of earth die away and the only sound will be the music of your speaking voice. Amen.” 

“My sheep listen to my voice; I know them  and they follow me.”  (John 10:27 )

Thank you, Lord…

2 thoughts on “Life is Loud

  1. Pingback: Word of God Speak « Absolutegrace

  2. Pingback: After Two Years « Absolutegrace

What do you think??

