Jesus’ Prayer — Part 5

Jesus and the Comforter:  Revealer of God’s Word and Truth

John 17: 6-8

“I have revealed You to those whom You gave Me out of the world.  They were Yours;  You gave them to Me and they have obeyed Your word.  Now they know that everything You have given Me comes from You.  For I gave them the words you gave Me and they accepted them.  They knew with certainty that I came from You, and they believed that You sent Me.” 

Jesus declares that He has come to reveal the Father’s words to the disciples.  For us, the only way to know the Father and His Word, is for Jesus to reveal Him to us.  While Jesus was on the earth, He revealed and taught the disciples in person, as God in the flesh (Immanuel).  After Jesus went to heaven, He sent the Holy Spirit, the Comforter, to do the same in and through us as He did while with the disciples. 

Prior to this prayer, Jesus taught the disciples about the “One who would come” to fill His place in their lives.  The entirety of the this text is from John 14:16-31, but I’ve just highlighted a few points here for the sake of brevity:

“I will ask the Father and He will give you another Counselor, the Spirit of Truth, to be with you forever…

….You know Him for He lives with you and will be in you.

…I will come to you. 

…On that day you will realize that I am in My Father, and you are in Me, and I am in YOU! 

…All this I have spoken while still with you.  But the Counselor, the Holy Spirit, Whom the Father will send in My name, will teach you all things and will remind you of everything I have said to you.”

To know the Lord intimately and live as one of His disciples, we must receive Jesus and the Comforter of whom He spoke.  It is the Spirit of Jesus who enables us to live the life God has called us to.   He goes on to say, in John 16: 5-15:

 “Now I am going to Him who sent me…It is for your good I go away,  Unless I go away the Counselor will not come, but if I go, I will send Him to you….When he, the Spirit of truth, comes, He will guide you into all truth. He will not speak on His own; He will speak only what He hears, and He will tell you what is yet to come. He will bring glory to Me by taking from what is mine and making it known [revealing] to you.”

The apostle Paul sheds light on the ministry of the Holy Spirit in I Corinthian 2:9-16, and begins by quoting Isaiah 64:4:

“No eye has seen, no ear has heard, no mind has conceived what God has prepared for those who love him”

Then Paul goes on to say,

“but God has revealed it to us by His Spirit. The Spirit searches all things, even the deep things of God.” 

 He asks another question:

 “For who among men knows the thoughts of a man except the man’s spirit within him?   In the same way, no one knows the thoughts of God, except the Spirit of God.  We have not received the spirit of the world but the Spirit who is from God, that we may understand what God has freely given us.” 

 Further on Paul quotes Isaiah again (40:13) and clarifies,

“‘For who has known the mind of the Lord that he may instruct Him?’  BUT we have the mind of Christ!” 

Today the Holy Spirit continues Jesus’ ministry on earth, of revealing and glorify the Father to us!  Jesus prayer is answered and His Name glorified everyday, as one by one, He is received into hearts, and lives are renewed by His life and the indwelling of His Spirit.   WE are part of the answer and the fruit of His prayer!

 “This is to My Father’s glory, that you bear much fruit, showing yourselves to be My disciples.”  John 15:8 

One thought on “Jesus’ Prayer — Part 5

  1. Hey, I have been loving these readings and beautiful photos! Are you hibernating these days? Perhaps just preparing the garden and the soul for the next season! I love you, Becky.

What do you think??

